PAMPER YOUR
ENGINE.

SOCAR VELVET 98 protects and
preserves your engine.

SOCAR VELVET98
REFUEL AND COLLECT
FIND OUT MORE!

Refuel three times with SOCAR VELVET 98*, collect three stickers and
you will receive a beach towel as a thank you gift (while stocks last).

* At least 25 litres per refuelling

SOCAR’s protection formula for all petrol engines

Schutz

Protection

Protective agents in SOCAR VELVET 98 form a layer, like a second skin, to shield delicate engine parts. These cleaning additives help to prevent new deposits and keep your engine clean, so it can deliver the performance intended by the manufacturer. SOCAR’s cleaning formula for greater efficiency.*

* Compared with fuels without cleaning additives from other vendors

bucket1

Cleaning

Our powerful cleaning additives help to remove existing engine deposits, caused by using fuel without cleaning additives.

Inlet valves and fuel injectors receive the protection they need to function correctly. Regular use of SOCAR VELVET 98 helps deliver the engine performance intended by the manufacturer.

SOCAR VELVET 98 meets a key customer demand for engine protection.

dash_icon

Performance

SOCAR VELVET 98 demonstrates high knock resistance from 98 octane performance. Modern engines featuring adaptive knock sensors can unlock the potential of 98 octane, thereby enhancing their performance and efficiency.

Higher octane fuel can be used in petrol engines without any concern.
Thus SOCAR VELVET 98 can fuel any car with a petrol engine.

Octane for more performance.*

* For engines with knock sensors

Play movie

VELVET 98 film

02:11

Detox for your engine

Thanks to the impact of the cleaning additives, the engine starts to clean itself right from the very first refuelling with SOCAR VELVET 98. If you refuel regularly with SOCAR VELVET 98, you may expect to remove more and more deposits.

SOCAR quality fuels

We invest in top quality –
in fuels with additives

Did you know that 40% of the fuels sold on the Swiss market do not contain any cleaning additives?

Cleaning additives improve combustion performance in the engine and are recommended by vehicle manufacturers. For many years, SOCAR has invested in the use of cleaning additives in all its fuels – both unleaded petrol and diesel. SOCAR VELVET 98 contains our latest optimum formulation for engine protection.

These cleaning additives are a critical component of a high quality fuel lifting it to a higher technology class than fuel without cleaning additives.

Unlike fuels without cleaning additives sold by other vendors, all SOCAR quality fuels help to protect against further deposit formation in your engine and keep your engine clean. SOCAR’s cleaning formula for greater efficiency.*

*Compared with fuels without cleaning additives from other vendors
** For engines with knock sensors

SOCAR VELVET 98 – suitable for all petrol engines

World Wide Fuel Charter:
The fifth edition of the World Wide Fuel Charter, drawn up by the European, American and Japanese car manufacturers, recommends the use of fuels with sufficient cleaning additives.

Frequently asked questions

Can I refuel with SOCAR VELVET 98 and enjoy the benefits even though my car manual recommends only regular unleaded petrol with an octane rating of 95?

A fuel with a higher octane content can always be used without hesitation with any petrol. We recommend the uses of SOCAR VELVET 98 for all gasoline engines.

Can I mix SOCAR VELVET 98 with other fuels?

SOCAR VELVET 98 can be mixed with other types of petrol without hesitation. This is because all types of petrol sold in Switzerland comply with the fuel standard (SN EN 228).

We recommend, though, that you use SOCAR VELVET 98 regularly so that you can enjoy the full benefit of the double protection formula and permanently protect your engine from deposits.

What is SOCAR VELVET 98 and what benefits does it have?

SOCAR VELVET 98 replaces the previously marketed SOCAR 98 unleaded premium; it contains a highly effective, new double-action formula specially designed to keep clean the intake system and especially the intake valves.

  • Powerful cleaning additives ensure that existing accumulations of dirt in engines caused by refuelling with additive-free fuels are largely removed. Valves and engine components receive the care they need to keep working like they always used to. Used regularly, SOCAR VELVET 98 thus lengthens component lifetimes.
  • In addition, protective agents form a layer over the delicate parts of the engine like a second skin to prevent new deposits from forming.

Furthermore, SOCAR VELVET 98 demonstrates a high knock resistance with 98 octane. Modern engines featuring intelligent knock sensors can also unlock the potential of fuels with high octane ratings to enhance their performance and reduce their fuel consumption.

SOCAR does not have a refinery and obtains its petrol from shared storage facilities.
Why should I believe that SOCAR fuels are different?

Fuels are produced in refineries in accordance with the quality regulations defined in the SN EN228:2012 fuel standard (known as base fuels). These base fuels are available to all market participants. Every type of fuel marketed in Switzerland complies with these minimum statutory requirements.

The use of a standard quality fuel does, however, lead to the formation of deposits that contribute to polluting the most important parts in the engine (especially fuel injectors and intake valves).

For this reason, SOCAR enhances the respective base fuel for all types of fuels it markets by blending in special SOCAR cleaning additive packages, which is what yields the SOCAR-branded fuel. This happens when the tanker lorries are loaded.

Unlike fuels sold without cleaning additives, these do not leave any damaging deposits in your engine. The problems of deposits forming on fuel injectors and intake valves can be avoided by using a higher quality fuel (with additives). This helps to keep your engine clean so that it can deliver the kind of performance the manufacturer intended.

What is the meaning of the brand name VELVET? What does the product have to do with “velvet”?

The name SOCAR VELVET 98 reflects SOCAR’s high standards in terms of quality, signifies innovation and exudes a strong sense of self-reliance in the field of mobility. VELVET is distinctly smooth to the touch. It is a multi-layered fabric known for its fine surface. This surface must, however, be protected and maintained, just like the surfaces of the various engine parts. This protection and maintenance is provided by SOCAR VELVET 98.

Which brands of fuel are sold without cleaning additives?

SOCAR refines all the quality fuels it markets with cleaning additives in order to enhance their performance.

It is not compulsory to blend in additives in Switzerland, even though this is recommended by European, American and Japanese carmakers in the World Wide Fuel Charter. It is left up to the oil companies whether they blend these additives into their fuels. This depends on the corporate strategy regarding product quality and the marketplace.

More questions

LE SOIN QUE VOTRE
MOTEUR MÉRITE.

SOCAR VELVET 98 protège et
entretient le moteur.

SOCAR VELVET98
FAITES LE PLEIN
ET CUMULEZ DES POINTS
EN SAVOIR PLUS!

Faites 3 fois le plein* de SOCAR VELVET 98, collectionnez 3 autocollants
et vous gagnerez une serviette de plage (jusqu’à épuisement du stock).

* Minimum de 25 litres par plein

Formule protectrice SOCAR pour tous les moteurs à essence

Schutz

Protection

Des substances protectrices enduisent parfaitement les parties sensibles du moteur et le protège ainsi contre les résidus. Ces additifs de nettoyage contribuent à maintenir la propreté de votre moteur, qui peut ainsi fournir toutes les performances annoncées par son fabricant. Formule nettoyante SOCAR, pour une meilleure efficience.*

* En comparaison aux carburants sans additifs nettoyants d’autres fournisseurs

bucket1

Nettoyage

De puissants agents nettoyants contribuent à éliminer les résidus présents dans le moteur suite à l’utilisation de carburant non enrichi.

Les soupapes et les buses d’injection sont ainsi traitées pour fournir quasiment les mêmes performances qu’au premier jour. Utilisée régulièrement, SOCAR VELVET 98 prolonge la durée de vie de votre moteur et contribue à ce qu’il fournisse toutes les performances annoncées par son fabricant.

SOCAR VELVET 98 apporte une solution aux nombreux clients qui souhaitent ménager leur moteur.

dash_icon

Performance

SOCAR VELVET 98 se distingue par d’excellentes propriétés antidétonantes, grâce à un indice de 98 octanes. Les carburants avec un indice d’octane élevé améliorent aussi le fonctionnement des moteurs modernes dotés de capteurs de cognement, qui fournissent des performances accrues pour une consommation réduite.

Les carburants avec un indice d’octane élevé peuvent être utilisés sans le moindre problème dans tous les moteurs à essence. SOCAR VELVET 98 est donc idéale pour toutes les voitures dotées d’un moteur à essence.

Indice d’octane élevé pour de meilleures performances.*

* Pour les moteurs dotés d’un capteur de cognement

Play movie

Vidéo VELVET 98

02:11

La cure détox pour votre moteur

Grâce à ses additifs nettoyants, SOCAR VELVET 98 entame la purification de votre moteur dès le premier plein. Faites régulièrement le plein de SOCAR VELVET 98 et vous aurez la certitude que les résidus présents dans votre moteur seront éliminés.

Carburants de qualité SOCAR

Carburants enrichis –
notre investissement pour une qualité supérieure

Saviez-vous que 40% des carburants vendus sur le marché suisse ne contiennent pas d’additifs nettoyants?

Les additifs nettoyants sont des substances qui améliorent la combustion du carburant dans le moteur. Depuis des années, SOCAR enrichit ses carburants d’additifs nettoyants. Il en va ainsi pour l’essence sans plomb comme pour le diesel.

Ces additifs purificateurs accroissent la qualité du carburant par rapport à celle des carburants non enrichis.

Contrairement aux carburants ne contenant pas d’additifs nettoyants, les carburants de qualité SOCAR ne laissent aucun dépôt dans votre moteur lors de leur combustion. Ils ont même été conçus pour protéger votre moteur de ces résidus. Ils contribuent à maintenir la propreté de votre moteur qui peut ainsi fournir toutes les performances annoncées par son fabricant. Formule nettoyante SOCAR, pour une meilleure efficience.*

* En comparaison aux carburants sans additifs nettoyants d’autres fournisseurs
** Pour les moteurs dotés d’un capteur de cognement

SOCAR VELVET 98 – pour tous les moteurs à essence

World Wide Fuel Charter:
elaborée par des constructeurs automobiles européens, américains et japonais, la cinquième édition du World Wide Fuel Charter recommande l’emploi de carburants enrichis d’une quantité suffisante d’additifs nettoyants.

Frequently asked questions

Le mode d'emploi de ma voiture ne recommande que 95 octanes. Puis-je quand même faire le plein de SOCAR VELVET 98 et bénéficier de ses avantages?

Oui, il est toujours possible de faire le plein d’essence avec un indice supérieur à l’indice recommandé.

Puis-je mélanger SOCAR VELVET 98 à d'autres carburants?

Oui, vous pouvez sans problème mélanger le SOCAR VELVET 98 avec tous les autres types d’essence. Car tous les types d’essence vendus en Suisse satisfont à la norme sur les carburants (SN EN 228).

Toutefois, nous vous recommandons de ne faire que le plein de SOCAR VELVET 98 afin de bénéficier des avantages de la formule double action et de libérer durablement votre moteur des résidus.

Qu'est-ce que SOCAR VELVET 98 et quels sont ses avantages?

SOCAR VELVET 98 remplace l’ancienne SOCAR sans plomb 98 et dispose d’une nouvelle formule double action haute efficacité spécialement conçue pour la propreté du système d’admission et en particulier des soupapes d’admission.

  • De puissants agents nettoyants contribuent à éliminer les résidus présents dans le moteur suite à l’utilisation de carburants non enrichis. Les soupapes et les composants du moteur sont ainsi traités pour fournir quasiment les mêmes performances qu’au premier jour. Utilisé régulièrement, SOCAR VELVET 98 prolonge la durée de vie de votre moteur.
  • En outre, des substances protectrices enduisent parfaitement les parties sensibles du moteur et le protège ainsi de toute nouvelle formation de résidus.

SOCAR VELVET 98 se distingue également par d’excellentes propriétés antidétonantes, caractéristiques d’un indice de 98 octanes. Les carburants à haut indice d’octane améliorent aussi le fonctionnement des moteurs modernes dotés de capteurs de cognement, qui fournissent des performances accrues pour une consommation réduite.

SOCAR ne possède pas de propre raffinerie et achète son essence dans des stocks communs.
Alors en quoi les carburants SOCAR sont-ils différents des autres carburants?

Les carburants sont produits dans des raffineries conformément aux prescriptions de qualité des normes sur les carburants SN EN228:2012. Il s’agit de carburants de base qui sont disponibles pour tous les concurrents sur le marché. Chaque carburant vendu en Suisse satisfait à ces dispositions légales minimales.

Toutefois, l’utilisation d’un carburant de qualité conventionnelle entraîne la formation de résidus qui encrassent les principaux composants du moteur (en particulier les pompes d’injection et les soupapes d’admission).

C’est pourquoi, pour l’ensemble des types de carburants proposés, SOCAR enrichit les carburants de base en y mélangeant des additifs nettoyants SOCAR spéciaux pour obtenir le carburant de marque SOCAR. Cette étape se déroule durant le chargement des camions-citernes.

Contrairement aux carburants ne contenant pas d’additifs nettoyants, les carburants SOCAR ne laissent aucun dépôt dans votre moteur. En effet, un carburant de qualité supérieure (contenant des additifs) permet d’éviter les problèmes dus à la formation de résidus dans les pompes d’injection et sur les soupapes d’admission. Il contribue à maintenir la propreté de votre moteur, qui peut ainsi fournir toutes les performances annoncées par son fabricant.

Que signifie VELVET? En quoi le produit est-il lié au mot «velours»?

Le nom SOCAR VELVET 98 associe toutes les exigences de qualité de SOCAR. Il affiche sa capacité d’innovation ainsi qu’une forte individualité dans le domaine de la mobilité. En français, VELVET se traduit par velours. Un tissu complexe dont la surface est particulièrement soyeuse. Une surface qui se doit d’être entretenue et protégée, tout comme les surfaces des composants du moteur. Et SOCAR VELVET 98 est précisément à même d’assurer cet entretien et cette protection.

Quelles sont les stations-service qui vendent des carburants sans additifs nettoyants?

Afin d’améliorer les propriétés de ses carburants, SOCAR enrichit tous les carburants de qualité proposés avec des additifs nettoyants.

En Suisse, l’ajout d’additifs n’est pas obligatoire, bien qu’il soit recommandé par les fabricants d’automobiles européens, américains et japonais dans la World Wide Fuel Charter. Par conséquent, les compagnies pétrolières sont libres d’enrichir leurs carburants ou non. Cette décision dépend de la stratégie d’entreprise en matière de qualité des produits et de la situation concurrentielle.

Autres questions